Contact webmaster

Copyright © 2003, Jonathan Tuck, on behalf of the Thames Valley Chess League


Welcome to the website of the Thames Valley Chess League. You will be able to find useful information such as the league's rules, the fixture lists and the contact details for league officers. The clubs page will list club captains and details of the club venues, with maps of their locations. The results service will record the result of each game and provide up to date cross-tables. In due course, there will be a games section and a history of the league.

This a site for all the people who play in the league, so if you have suggestions, corrections, or useful additional information, please contact me.

David White 

Website last updated 4.1.19 -  We now have a new webite and all results from the start of 2015-6 can be found at

Results for previous seasons can be found in the Archive section. Up to date contact details and venues can be found on the new website.

I am sorry to report that Colin Crouch passed away recently at the age of 58. He was an International Master and had been a member of Harrow chess Club for 40 years and also played for Pinner in the League, He spent a lot of time coaching Juniors at Harrow and helped a number of young players develop an appreciation of the game and become strong players. A fuller obituary can be found on the English Chess Federation website here.

Chris Clegg a member of Kingston Chess Club for over 50 years passed away recently. He was captain of many of Kingston's team in the Thames Valley League. I remember several well fought games with Chris. More details can be found on the English Chess Forum website.

Staines have moved venue

Ealing have moved venue and now play on Mondays and details are shown on the Club page

Congratulations to the following winners for 2013/4

Division 1 - Richmond A

Division 2 - Hammersmith A

Division 3 - Meadhurst A

Division 4 - Wimbledon D

Division X - Kingston B

Knock out Trophy - Surbiton

The Clubs details and contact details of match captains have been updated. Please note that Hayes have moved venue and now play at the Ivy Leaf Club, 8, Wellington Road, Uxbridge.

The final league results for 2012-3 are now shown.

Richmond have won the knockout trophy beating Harrow 4-2 in the final. Full details can be found on the results page.

The League AGM was held on Monday 24th June at The Bulstrode, Hounslow. The Agenda can be found by clicking here..

Congratulations to the following teams

Richmond A who are champions of Division 1

Harrow A who have won Division 2 with Wimbledon B also promoted

Harrow B who have won Division 3 with Ealing Juniors also being promoted.

Ealing Juniors B having won Division 4 with Meadhurst A also promoted.

Kingston B have won Division X.

The 2011-2 season has finished and congratulations to the following teams.

Wimbledon A have won Division 1.

Hammersmith have won Division 2 and Richmond B are also promoted.

Surbiton B have won Division 3 and Wimbledon C are also promoted..

Ealing Juniors have won Division 4 and Harrow C are also promoted.

Kingston won the Knockout Trophy..

Final results for the 2010/11 season are now shown

Congratulations to the following teams

Division 1 Champions - Ealing A

Division 2 Champions Kingston A, also promoted Ealing B

Division 3 Champions - Hounslow A and Hayes A have also been promoted

Division X Champions Richmond E

Knock Out Trophy - Staines who narrowly beat Ealing 3½ - 2½ in the final

Congratulations to Ealing A who have won Division 1 for 2009-10, Harrow A winners of Division 2 and Staines B who have won Division 3

The Final of the 2008 Knockout took place on Saturday 21st June and after a very closely contested match the trophy was won by Hayes on the elimination rule.

Knock out Final report